A Haven for Fables – Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

As mentioned in a previous post, I have a habit of buying random books that look interesting. That is how I stumbled upon the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. Brandon is a Utah author, and Fablehaven represents his entry into the world of authordom.

It is a story about two siblings, Seth and Kendra, who go to visit their Grandparents, Stan and Ruth. While visiting, they find that the world around them is not what it appears to be. Filled with amazing creatures both light and dark, and incredible adventures beyond compare, Fablehaven will delight the most discerning reader, be they young or old.

Three books have been released so far, “Fablehaven”, “Rise of the Evening Star”, and “Grip of the Shadow Plague”. All three books are fantastic, riveting stories. My wife and I are avid fans, and we eagerly await the next installment (due out next year). Last I heard, movie rights have even been optioned.

Brandon has also written another book, “The Candy Shop War”, which, while different from Fablehaven, was equally entertaining, and definitely worth reading.

Brandon’s writing style is every bit as captivating as JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series, if not more so in some ways. His take on myth and magic is very unique, and I have no doubt that his works will grow in popularity for years to come. Fablehaven is one of the most enchanting stories I have ever read, and I would have no hesitation reading it to my children (if I had any).

For those who are interested, Brandon Mull will be signing books at the Deseret Book at The University Mall in Orem on December 6th, from 2-4pm. Don’t miss this opportunity to meet one of the most impressive authors of our time.

You can find Brandon Mull’s books here:


Fablehaven: Rise of the Evening Star

Fablehaven: Grip of the Shadow Plague

The Candy Shop War

2 thoughts on “A Haven for Fables – Fablehaven by Brandon Mull”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *